Chargers Win Grand Final

Oakleigh Chargers have been crowned the 2012 TAC Cup Premiers after fighting out a tight final term with Gippsland Power to win by 1 solitary point. A behind to TAC Medallist Jackson Macrae gave Oakleigh the score they needed to clinch the premiership, just 32 seconds into the golden score period with scores locked at the end of regulation time.

The final quarter may have brought back bad memories for Oakleigh from 2011 when they saw Sandringham run over the top of them if the final term, as Gippsland kicked four of teh first five goals of teh final term to lead by 11 points. The Chargers have had to wait another 12 month for redemption, and whilst the coach and 75% of the playing stocks have changed, the 2012 lineup were able to over come an eight goal to three second half by Gippsland to record their 2nd ever TAC Cup title.

Oakleigh Chargers Jackson Macrae was awarded the TAC Medal for best on ground in the Grand Final.

Full report to follow during the week.

Gippsland Power   3.2  4.3  8.5  12.9 (81)
Oakleigh Chargers   3.3  7.5  9.7  12.10 (82)

Gippsland Power: Membrey 4 Graham 3 Scott 2 Deery  Hams  Drew
Oakleigh Chargers: Jaksch 2 Billings 2 Walmsley  Toohey  Kennedy-Harris  Cutler  Franetic  MacRae  MacMillan  Vearing

Gippsland Power: Graham Cashman Hams Membrey Johnstone Heppell
Oakleigh Chargers: Franetic MacRae MacMillan Cutler Collopy Kennedy-Harris


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.