Vic Country crowned U16 champs

Vic Country has completed the NAB AFL U16 Championships as title winners, defeating SA in the final match of the Division one Championship.

With both sides needing a win to clinch the title, Vic Country led from start to finish, holding off a fast finishing SA side in the final term to claim victory by just two points.

Vic Country and Geelong Falcons player Rhys Mathieson (pictured on the right of teamate Nash Holmes) was named the Kevin Sheehan Medalist, for best player of the carnival. 


Vic Country won the Division One title 

NAB AFL MVP winners:  

Vic Country: Sam Skinner 

South Australia: Stephen Tahana 

Western Australia: Kade Stewart 

Vic Metro: Nicholas O’Kearney  

Vic Country’s Rhys Mathieson won the Kevin Sheehan Medal, presented to the Division One best and fairest.

ROUND 3 Results:

Vic Country 9.8 (62) d South Australia 8.12 (60) 


Vic Country: Hulett 3, Mathieson 2, Dunkley, Weitering, Holmes, Schache 

South Australia: Partington 2, Rocca 2, Burton 2, Graham, Beioley 


Vic Country: Mathieson, Hulett , Schache , Skinner , Dunkley , Parish 

South Australia: Partington , Tahana , Olekalns ,Snelling 


Western Australia 8.10 (58) d Vic Metro 6.3 (39) 


Western Australia: Mirco 3, Rogers 2, Chee 2, Kersten 

Vic Metro: Parsons 2, Thompson 2, Gilbert, McDonald 


Western Australia: Stewart, Ah Chee , Burnett , McComb , Mattews , Curnow 

Vic Metro: Atkins, Parsons, O’Kearney, Wilson , Stillman 




Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.