Preview/teams: Round 5 U18 Championships

Vic Metro are one game away from claiming the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships, while Vic Country are out to finish off the carnival in a big way as the NAB AFL U18 Championships conclude today at Simonds Stadium. Both teams supported throughout the Championships by Dairy Australia.

Metro will be crowned champions if they can overcome an in-form Western Australian outfit, however a loss would mean the championships would be decided on percentage – between Metro, WA and South Australia. 

Metro recorded a hard fought 14-point victory against the Allies on Friday at Etihad Stadium, with Eastern Ranges’ pair Sam Hayes and Dylan Clarke leading the way with impressive performances. 

Hayes, the 200cm key forward, kicked three goals and had 13 disposals, while Clarke had 26 possessions and five clearances. 

Other key performers for David Flood’s side included Corey Lyons (20 disposals, one goal from Sandringham Dragons), Jordan Ridley (18 disposals, seven marks Oakleigh Chargers) and Andrew McGrath (Sandringham Dragons) – who continues to stamp himself as a potential draft prospect. 

Flood was happy with the result against the side he described as the toughest team they’ve faced. 

“The Allies were probably the best side we’ve played so far, so we can take a fair bit from that game,” said Flood. 

“They were impressive in terms of their talents and they challenged our guys – particularly after quarter time. 

“It was pretty pleasing to be able to bounce back from that and the fact that ours guys absorbed their pressure and continued on to play well.” 

While the final game against WA is the make or break game for the title, Flood says he’ll treat it like any other match. He also said that winning the silverware would do more for the players and their families, rather than any personal satisfaction. 

“Winning tomorrow would just cap off a good year for us, but my objective is always to have a good team environment for our players. 

“It’s more about our players getting enjoyment out the game and the families of the kids. If they are getting enjoyment out of it, that’s pleasing from my aspect.” 

Vic Country will also be running out on Simonds Stadium, in their final game against Metro’s last opponents. 

Paul Henriksen’s side go into the clash with the Allies without a win to their name, but a number of strong individual and team performances have produced some positives from the championship. 

Country finished strong in their last game, kicking five goals to nil in the final quarter of the 11-point loss to South Australia. 

North Ballarat Rebels’ Hugh McCluggage was again brilliant for his country side on Friday, collecting 17 disposals and kicking three goals. 

The 185cm midfielder, who is in contention as a high selection, has impressed all carnival – racking up 27 touches in his first game and 25 possessions, four clearances and three goals in his second. 

Country midfielder Ben Ainsworth (Gippsland Power) was also impressive on the weekend with his 20 disposals and four inside 50’s, while James Worpel (Geelong Falcons), Jo Atley (Bendigo Pioneers), Reece Piper (Dandenong Stingrays) and William Brodie (Murray Bushrangers were all named in the best. 

While Country would like to have a win next to their name after going undefeated in last year’s championships, their last two games have provided some good signs. The side went down by just two points to Vic Metro in their second game and played some impressive football to come home strong against SA in their last. Braidon Blake (Bendigo) comes into the squad for the injured Mitch McCarthy.

Wednesday’s game at 4.45pm at Simonds Stadium against the Allies will provide a great opportunity to finish off the carnival well and have some of their draft potentials put in a good performance against some familiar faces. There are eight TAC Cup players included in the Allies list, most from country regions, so TAC Cup teammates like Murray’s Todd Marshall and Will Brodie or Kobe Mutch and Jo Atley will take to the field on opposing sides for the first time this year. 

The game will come after the all-important title decider between Vic Metro and WA at 2.35pm. 

Both games are live on FOX FOOTY, or follow score updates on twitter @TACCup

  Vic Metro    
B Brodie Romensky Harrison Nolan Nelson Lane
  Western Jets Eastern Ranges Eastern Ranges
HB Jack Scrimshaw Jack Maibaum Andrew McGrath
  Sandringham Dragons Eastern Ranges Sandringham Dragons
C Taylin Duman Dylan Clarke Corey Lyons
  Oakleigh Chargers Eastern Ranges Sandringham Dragons
HF Oliver Florent  Nick Larkey Tim Taranto
  Sandringham Dragons Oakleigh Chargers Sandringham Dragons
F Callum Brown Patrick Kerr Jordan Lynch
  Eastern Ranges Oakleigh Chargers Eastern Ranges
FOLL Sam Hayes Jordan Gallucci Wilson Berry
  Eastern Ranges Eastern Ranges Western Jets
INT: Lachlan Filipovic Daniel Venables Jordan Ridley
  Sandringham Dragons Western Jets Oakleigh Chargers
  Luke Bunker Joel Garner Jack Higgins
  Northern Knights Eastern Ranges Oakleigh Chargers
  Josh Daicos    
  Oakleigh Chargers    
  Vic Country    
B Reece Piper Oscar Clavarino Cooper Jones
  Dandenong Stingrays Dandenong Stingrays Bendigo Pioneers
HB Jarrod Berry Jarrod Korewha Hunter Clark 
  North Ballarat Rebels North Ballarat Rebels Dandenong Stingrays
C Tom Jok Will Brodie Lochie O'Brien
  Dandenong Stingrays Murray Bushrangers Bendigo Pioneers
HF Ben Ainsworth Esava Ratugolea Jo Atley
  Gippsland Power Murray Bushrangers Bendigo Pioneers
F Braidon Blake Josh Battle Luke Davies-Uniacke
  Bendigo Pioneers Dandenong Stingrays Dandenong Stingrays
FOLL Sean Darcy Myles Poholke Hugh McCluggage
  Geelong Falcons Dandenong Stingrays North Ballarat Rebels
INT: Willem Drew James Worpel Louis Pinnuck
  North Ballarat Rebels Geelong Falcons Murray Bushrangers
  Tom Williamson      Sam Fowler  
  North Ballarat Rebels Dandenong Stingrays  




17 Jamie Hampton

29 Harrison Macreadie

10 Ben Long

H Backs

5 Jake Brown

24 Max Spencer

11 Isaac Cumming


13 Harry Perryman

4 Charlie Spargo

14 Kobe Mutch

H Fwds

16 Brad Scheer

32 Todd Marshall

12 Jack Rolls


1 Mitchell Maguire

30 Zachary Sproule

26 Jacob Allison


34 Max Lynch

6 Brandan Parfitt

9 Sam Fisher


21 Josh Williams

35 Tony Olango

8 Nick Kempe


19 Benjamin Davis

18 Jack Bowes

25 Ryan Garthwaite


23 Will Setterfield





Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.