Under 16 Country Carnival Results

Elite under 16 boys from Victorian Country regions congregated in Bendigo over the weekend to impress selectors and potentially earn themselves a spot in the State Team.

The Bendigo Pioneers, Dandenong Stingrays, Geelong Falcons, Gippsland Power, Murray Bushrangers and North Ballarat Rebels each presented a team to compete in the Under 16 Country Carnival.

The round-robin competition took place on Friday 13th & Sunday 15th April at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Country Victoria selectors will now pick a squad of 45 players that will undertake various preparation and selection sessions, including fitness testing, skill training workshops and trial matches. 

Overtime the squad will gradually decrease until the final team of 25 are selected to represent Country Victoria at the National Under 16 Championships in Western Sydney.  

See a detailed list of results below: 

Murray Bushrangers: 4.1   6.6   10.10   10.15 (75)

Bendigo Pioneers:     1.1   3.2   6.2   6.5 (41)


Murray – T O’Brien 3, B Smith 2, B Wales, H Peni, B Pritchard, J Ehunton, B Webster

Bendigo – J Pullman 2, B Poyser, J Maher, A Morris, W Minter


Murray – B Pritchard, J Donoghey, T O’Brien, T Holman, N Mellington

Bendigo – T Broadbent, J Maher, L Barrett, J Coghlan, N Holt 


Dandenong Stingrays: 3.3   5.5   8.6   12.7 (79)

North Ballarat Rebels: 1.1   2.6   5.8   7.10 (52)


Dandenong – T Lamb 5, J Lonie 3, A Harnett 2, T Donaston, C Harper

North Ballarat – S Baird 2, N Weightman, W Austin, J O’Beirne, D Butler, C Smith


Dandenong – D Capiron, D Kempster, A Harnett, T Lamb, J Lonie

North Ballarat – J Simons, J Brennan, L Hoy, T Templeton, N Weightman 


Geelong Falcons: 2.1   9.10   13.17   19.20 (134)

Gippsland Power: 2.2   2.2   5.5   7.6 (48)


Geelong – H Goddard 4, B McCartin 4, J Rushton 3, H Kol 2, K Hickey, T Miles, M Dixon, D McMahon, B Nerfurth, C Lloyd

Gippsland Power – J Cunico 2, A Becerio 2, J Barnes 2, T Bale


Geelong – M Dixon, H Goodard, S Presani, L Maddock, H McMahon

Gippsland Power – B Waiter, M Starilake, J Cunico, J Barnes, H Brittain


Bendigo Pioneers: 1.2   3.3   7.5   9.6 (60)

North Ballarat Rebels: 2.2   4.4   5.7   8.11 (59)


Bendigo – M Rix 4, M Rogerson 2, J Onley, W Minter, J Pullman

North Ballarat – M Weightman, W Austin, M Walsh, S Glover, J O’Beirne, H Ganley, J Lock, K Smith


Bendigo – T Broadbent, K Walsh, J Maher, C Coghlan, M Holt

North Ballarat – T Templeton, J Webster, M Weightman, K Smith, L Hoy 


Geelong Falcons: 2.2   6.6   10.8   14.12 (96)

Murray Bushrangers: 2.5   2.9   6.10   10.12 (72)


Geelong – H Goddard 4, J Rushton 2, B Beardsell, H Kol, P McCarton, J Nelson, C Dunn, B Sutterby, J Hickey, S Presani

Murray – T O’Brien 2, B Webster 2, R Pfeiffer 2, D Smith, J Wild, A Markizw, J Donochy


Geelong – L Maddock, H Goddard, B Sutterby, T Miles, S Presani, B Verfoth, J Rushton

Murray – D Smith, J Cormick, J Heiner, B Webster, A Tatterstil


Gippsland Power         0.5   3.7   5.9    6.11 (47)

Dandenong Stingrays   1.1   2.3   4.9    6.10 (46)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.