Calder Cannons celebrate 20 years

The rich 20 year history of the Calder Cannons in AFL Victoria’s TAC Cup competition was celebrated at Etihad Stadium with the clubs inaugural Hall of Fame night.

A number of club administrators and former players were first inductees into the Cannons’ Hall of Fame, which recognised service to the club and achievements by players that have gone on to decorated AFL careers.

The club also announced on the night a Team of the first 20 years from its over 120 draftees and rookies, boasting a star studded line up of current and former AFL players.

AFL Vic TV headed to the function to catch all the action and speeches from the likes of Paul Chapman, Jude Bolton, Ryan O’Keefe, Tom Lonergan, James Kelly, Daniel Talia, David Rodan, Ryan Crowley, Richard Douglas and Ivan Maric plus we reveal the Team of the first 20 years. 


The inaugural Hall of Fame inductees were:

Ross Monaghan: Talent Manager 1995-2004

Phil Dunk: Trainer 1995-present

Robert Hyde: Coach 1996-2006, 3 TAC Cup Premierships

Darren Milburn: Cannons Games: 18; AFL Games: 292; Local Club: Kilmore FC; 2007 All Australian; AFL Premiership 2007 & 2009

James Kelly: Cannons Games: 31; AFL Games: 256; Local Club: Sunbury FC; 2011 All Australian; AFL Premierships 2007, 2009 & 2011

Jude Bolton: Cannons Games: 24; AFL Games: 325; Local Club: Aberfeldie FC; AFL Premierships 2005 & 2012

Dane Swan: Cannons Games: 18; AFL Games: 236; Local Club: Westmeadows FC; All Australian 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013; Brownlow Medal 2011; AFL Premiership 2010; Collingwood FC B&F 2008, 2009 & 2010

Jason Johnson: Cannons Games:  11; AFL Games: 184; Local Club: Kilmore FC; All Australian 2001; Essendon FC B&F 2001 & 2005; AFL Premiership 2000

Ryan O’Keefe: Cannons Games: 35; AFL Games: 286; Local Club: Strathmore FC; Sydney FC B&F 2009; All Australian 2006; Norm Smith Medal 2012; AFL Premiership 2005 & 2012

Paul Chapman: Cannons Games: 38; AFL Games: 271; Local Club: Nth Coburg Saints FC; Geelong FC B&F 2006; All Australian 2009 & 2010; Norm Smith Medal 2009; AFL Premierships 2007, 2009 & 2011


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.