Vic Country wins out west

A dominant performance in front of goal by big man Josh Schache (Murray Bushrangers) was the highlight of Vic Country’s 105-point defeat of Western Australia at Medibank Stadium in Round 2 of the NAB AFL U18 Championships. 

199cm Schache booted 8.4 – including four majors in the final quarter – to go along with 24 disposals and seven marks, helping Country record its second win of the Championships following a thrilling victory over Vic Metro in Round 1. 

A host of other talented TAC Cup players also starred as Country led throughout the match to triumph 21.18 (144) to 5.9 (39). 

Rhys Mathieson (Geelong Falcons - pictured) was Country’s prime mover through the midfield, racking up game-highs in disposals (27) and clearances (seven). 

Nash Holmes (Gippsland Power) was also prolific with 26 disposals and three goals, while Ben Ainsworth (Gippsland Power), Harry McKay (Gippsland Power) and Myles Poholke (Dandenong Stingrays) chipped in with two goals each. 

WA was never in the contest after Schache started the match in ominous touch by having three shots on goal in the opening 10 minutes. He had 2.3 on the board before quarter time while WA could only manage two behinds for the term. 

Country had opened up a decisive 34-point lead at the first break and it only grew larger as Holmes, Ainsworth and McKay joined in on the goal feast in the second quarter. Even with a comfortable 55-point advantage heading into the second half, Country didn’t let up on their opponents, running out the match in devastating fashion. 

Vic Country’s next assignment is a rematch with Vic Metro at Simonds Stadium on Sunday June 7.


WESTERN AUSTRALIA       0.2     2.2      4.5      5.9 (39) 

VIC COUNTRY                   5.6    10.9   13.14  21.18 (144)   


Western Australia: Ah Chee 2, Clark, Rogers, Shaw 

Vic Country: Schache 8 (Murray Bushrangers), Holmes 3 (Gippsland Power), Ainsworth 2 (Gippsland Power), Poholke 2 (Dandenong Stingrays), McKay 2 (Gippsland Power), Mathieson (Geelong Falcons), Eades (North Ballarat Rebels), Simpkin (Murray Bushrangers), Skinner (Gippsland Power) 


Western Australia: Shaw, Clark, Ridley, Harrold, Powell-Pepper, Rotham 

Vic Country: Schache (Murray Bushrangers), Collins (Dandenong Stingrays), Tucker (North Ballarat Rebels), Berry (North Ballarat Rebels), Mathieson (Geelong Falcons), Holmes (Gippsland Power)


CLICK HERE to read about Vic Metro's Round 2 clash against SA


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.