U16 Country & Metro Carnival results: Rd 1

The start of the TAC Cup U18 season has also seen the U16 teams take to the field over the last week.

The U16 teams from the six metropolitan-based TAC Cup clubs played off in a triple-header at Rams Arena on Tuesday, with the Calder Cannons, Sandringham Dragons and Oakleigh Chargers emerging victorious.

They joined Bendigo Pioneers, Dandenong Stingrays and North Ballarat Rebels as U16 winners, after the country teams all played as curtain-raiser games to Round 1 TAC Cup U18 matches last weekend. 

See full match details and team lists below.

Round 2 of the country carnival will take place at QEO in Bendigo this Friday, with Bendigo Pioneers v Gippsland Power (11:30am), Dandenong Stingrays v North Ballarat Rebels (1.30pm) and Murray Bushrangers v Geelong Falcons (3.30pm).

Round 2 of the metro carnival will take place at Marie Wallace Bayswater Oval, Bayswater on Tuesday April 5 with Eastern Ranges vs Northern Knights at 10am, Western Jets vs Sandringham Dragons at 12.10pm and Oakleigh Chargers vs Calder Cannons at 2.20pm.



CALDER CANNONS 8.9 (57) def WESTERN JETS 6.10 (46)


Calder: Tom Pound 2, Curtis Taylor, Ismail Moussa, Dean Xuereb, Campbell Barton, Nicholas Walsh, Tye Browning

Western: Owen King 2, Jaksyn Grant 2, Buku Khamis, Hamish murphy

Best players

Calder: Patrick Mahoney, Jack Bytel, Shane Skidmore, Lachlan Sholl, Sam Graham

Western: Stefan Radovanovic, Xavier O'Halloran, David Fruzcalzo, Zak Butters, Jake Hazik




Sandringham: Jake Turner 3, Max King 2, Will Kennedy 2, Jack Denborough, Nick Stamatis, Bailey Smith, Ben King, Dean Bradley, Alistair Richards

Eastern: Mitchell Perry, Ryan Einsporn, Joshua Hopkins

Best players

Sandringham: Max King, Ben King, Nick Stamatis, Bailey Smith, David Seager

Eastern: Kye Quirk, Jacob Aitchison, Harvey Chinn, Mitchell Perry, Steven Kapahnke




Oakleigh: Matt Pressuito 4, Jake Gasper 2, Sam Harte 2, James Rowbottom, Karl Wise, Will Golds, Charlie Whitehead, Zac Heart

Northern: Thomas Hallebone 3, Rupert Azzopardi, Patrick Dellarolla, Aaron Luber, Joseph Ciranna, Matthew McLellan

Best players

Oakleigh: Sam Harte, Charlie Whitehead, James Rowbottom, Joseph Ayton-Delaney, Matt Warren

Northern: Patrick Dellarocca, Joseph Ciranna, Blake Murphy, Braedyn Gillard, Kane Veliou



Murray Bushrangers           2.0     3.3     4.4     6.5 (41)

Bendigo Pioneers                3.2      4.5      9.6      11.10 (76)


Best players

Murray: Garoni, Clarke, Quinn, Pigatto, Blackey-Dow, Adams

Bendigo: Atley, Williams, Goodwin, Wheeler, J Grace, Chisholm 


Murray: Garoni 5, Barzen

Bendigo: Goodwin 3, Marciano 2, Holt 2, Lawson, Chisholm, Chester, Woods



Gippsland Power                 2.1     4.6     6.6     6.6 (42)

Dandenong Stingrays         1.2      1.5      5.7      8.8 (56)


Best players

Gippsland: Taylor, Patterson, Allman, Beck, Duursma, Motton

Dandenong: Bayne, Briggs, Riordan, Bitters, McDonnell, Ellison 


Gippsland: Wykes 2, Allman, Garnham, McFarland, Mosquito

Dandenong: Bayne 2, Bowman 2, Young, Nanscawen, Ellison, Bitters


Geelong Falcons                 2.4     3.7     4.9     8.11 (59)

North Ballarat Rebels         2.1      5.2      8.3      10.4 (64)


Best players

Geelong: Handley, Tanis, Walsh, Mongelli, Campi, Brownless

North Ballarat: Bull, Carlin, Schnerring, Lohmann, Hill, Chatfield 


Geelong: Brownless 4, Cartledge, Fenton, Allen, Cunningham

North Ballarat: Hill 2, Chatfield, Dawson, Hopper, Anderson, Hawkins, Antonio, Schnerring, Bull


Click the documents below for the U16 team lists.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.