Vic Metro squad announced

The 38-player 2016 Vic Metro squad that will seek to claim its first NAB AFL U18 Championships title since 2012 has been announced. 

In 2015, Vic Metro won two games out of six at the U18 Championships, with subsequent first-round AFL draftee Jade Gresham (St Kilda/ex-Northern Knights) winning the team’s MVP award. 

The Eastern Ranges contribute the most members to this year’s squad with 11 players. The Oakleigh Chargers have nine representatives, followed by the Sandringham Dragons with seven, Western Jets with six, Northern Knights with three and Calder Cannons with two. 

There’s no shortage of leadership material amongst the squad, with captains from five of the six Metro clubs selected: Dylan Clarke (Eastern), Mason Blakey (Northern), Jack Roughsedge (Oakleigh), Hamish Brayshaw (Sandringham) and Wilson Berry and Oscar Junker (Western co-captains). 

NAB AFL Academy Level Two (top-age) squad members Jordan Gallucci (Eastern) and Jack Scrimshaw (Sandringham) are part of the Metro squad, as are Level One (bottom-age) members Lachlan Fogarty (Western), Joel Garner (Eastern), Jack Higgins (Oakleigh), Patrick Naish (Northern) and Jaidyn Stephenson (Eastern). 

Ranges big men Sam Hayes and Harrison Nolan join the latter five as bottom-age players in the squad, while Calder Cannons spearhead Karl Brown – equal-second on the TAC Cup’s goalkicking table – is the only over-ager included. 

Two sons of guns have also been selected: Eastern’s Callum Brown – son of former Collingwood captain Gavin Brown – and Oakleigh’s Josh Daicos – son of ex-Magpies goalsneak Peter Daicos. 

Many eyes will be on an exciting group of ball-winners integral to Sandringham’s early-season success including Corey Lyons, Andrew McGrath and Tim Taranto, while there’s a buzz around some of Western’s 2016 prospects following a lean 2015 season, such as Junker, defender Brodie Romensky and mid-forward Daniel Venables. 

The progression of Oakleigh Chargers 2015 TAC Cup premiership players Taylin Duman, Patrick Kerr, Sam McLarty and Roughsedge will also be keenly watched. 

Vic Metro - proudly supported by Dairy Australia - will again be coached by David Flood and starts its Championships campaign against Vic Country on Monday June 13 at Simonds Stadium after a first-round bye.


Vic Country squad announced

TAC Cup players feature in Allies squad


Karl BROWN Calder Cannons/Essendon Doutta Stars FC
Hayden BLYTHE Calder Cannons/Glenroy FC
Jaidyn STEPHENSON Eastern Ranges/ Ferntree Gully FC
Sam HAYES Eastern Ranges/ Ferntree Gully FC
Harrison NOLAN Eastern Ranges/ Mt Evelyn FC
Jordan LYNCH Eastern Ranges/ Norwood FC
Callum BROWN Eastern Ranges/Bulleen Temp. FC/Marcellin
Nelson LANE Eastern Ranges/Heathmont FC
Dylan CLARKE Eastern Ranges/Knox FC/Melbourne GS
Jack MAIBAUM Eastern Ranges/Knox FC/Melbourne GS
Jordan GALLUCCI Eastern Ranges/Lilydale FC/Yarra Valley GS
Adam CERRA Eastern Ranges/Norwood FC/Wesley College
Joel GARNER Eastern Ranges/Wandin FC/Scotch
Mason BLAKEY Northern Knights/Eltham FC
Patrick NAISH Northern Knights/Ivanhoe JFC/Ivanhoe GS
Luke BUNKER Northern Knights/St Mary's FC/Ivanhoe GS
Josh DAICOS Oakleigh Chargers/ Bulleen-Temp. FC/Camberwell GS
Sam McLARTY Oakleigh Chargers/Beverley Hills JFC/Yarra Valley GS
Jack ROUGHSEDGE Oakleigh Chargers/Blackburn FC
Jack HIGGINS Oakleigh Chargers/East Malvern FC/Caullfield Grammar
Patrick KERR Oakleigh Chargers/Glen Iris JFC/St Kevin's
Nick LARKEY Oakleigh Chargers/Hawthorn Citizens JFC/Trinity GS
Jordan RIDLEY Oakleigh Chargers/Knox FC
Taylin DUMAN Oakleigh Chargers/Norwood FC
Callum SEARLE Oakleigh Chargers/Waverley Blues FC/Haileybury
Corey LYONS Sandringham Dragons /St Peters FC
Jack SCRIMSHAW Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris FC/Haileybury
Oliver FLORENT Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris FC/Mentone GS
Andrew McGRATH Sandringham Dragons/East Brighton FC/Brighton GS
Hamish BRAYSHAW Sandringham Dragons/Hampton Rovers FC
Lachlan FILIPOVIC Sandringham Dragons/Ormond FC
Tim TARANTO Sandringham Dragons/Parkdale FC/St Kevin's
Wilson BERRY Western Jets/Aberfeldie FC
Daniel VENABLES Western Jets/Keilor FC/PEGS
Brodie ROMENSKY Western Jets/Maribyrnong Park FC
Brock McGREGOR Western Jets/Melton FC/PEGS
Lachlan FOGARTY Western Jets/Spotswood FC/St Kevin's
Oscar JUNKER Western Jets/Werribee Districts FC


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.