Combine invitees announced

The TAC Cup has produced 43 of the 80 players invited to the 2016 NAB AFL Draft Combine, which will be conducted at Etihad Stadium from Thursday October 6 to Sunday October 9.

23 players are from Country TAC Cup clubs and 20 from Metro clubs, with six of the 43 TAC Cup players originating from NSW/ACT.

The Murray Bushrangers contribute the most Combine invitees with eight players, followed by the Sandringham Dragons (six), Eastern Ranges (five), North Ballarat Rebels (five), Oakleigh Chargers (five), Dandenong Stingrays (four), Geelong Falcons (three), Western Jets (three), Bendigo Pioneers (two) and Gippsland Power (one) and Northern Knights (one).

See the full list of TAC Cup invitees below.

Players had to be nominated by at least five AFL clubs in order to be invited to the Combine, which tests the athletic traits and football skills of attendees as well as assessing their personality and character.

AFL National and International Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan said the Combine was important part of AFL clubs’ drafting processes.

“The Draft Combine is the final chance many clubs will have to see prospective players up close,” Sheehan said. “Clubs will not only watch the testing but will conduct interviews with players as they count down to the 2016 NAB AFL Draft in Sydney.”

Additional TAC Cup players will be invited to test at the Victorian State Combine following the National Combine.


Kobe Mutch Bendigo Pioneers
Joe Atley  Bendigo Pioneers
Josh Battle  Dandenong Stingrays
Bailey Morrish  Dandenong Stingrays
Mitch McCarthy  Dandenong Stingrays
Myles Poholke  Dandenong Stingrays
Joshua Begley  Eastern Ranges
Callum Brown Eastern Ranges
Dylan Clarke  Eastern Ranges
Jordan Gallucci Eastern Ranges
Jack Maibaum Eastern Ranges
Sean Darcy  Geelong Falcons
Jack Henry  Geelong Falcons
Alex Witherden Geelong Falcons
Ben Ainsworth Gippsland Power
Ryan Garthwaite  Murray Bushrangers
Max Lynch  Murray Bushrangers
Todd Marshall  Murray Bushrangers
Zachary Sproule  Murray Bushrangers
Will Brodie  Murray Bushrangers
Harry Morrison  Murray Bushrangers
Esava Ratougolea Murray Bushrangers
Jy Simpkin  Murray Bushrangers
Jarrod Berry  North Ballarat Rebels
Cedric Cox  North Ballarat Rebels
Willem Drew North Ballarat Rebels
Hugh McCluggage  North Ballarat Rebels
Tom Williamson  North Ballarat Rebels
Patrick Lipinski Northern Knights
Josh Daicos  Oakleigh Chargers
Taylin Duman Oakleigh Chargers
Pat Kerr  Oakleigh Chargers
Sam McLarty  Oakleigh Chargers
Jordan Ridley  Oakleigh Chargers
Will Setterfield  Sandringham Dragons
Hamish Brayshaw  Sandringham Dragons
Oliver Florent  Sandringham Dragons
Andrew McGrath  Sandringham Dragons
Jack Scrimshaw Sandringham Dragons
Tim Taranto  Sandringham Dragons
Judah Dundon  Western Jets
Oscar Junker Western Jets
Daniel Venables  Western Jets


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.