28 TAC Cup players in 2017 AFL Academy

TAC Cup clubs have supplied 28 of the 56 players selected in 2017 NAB AFL Academy program, including 18 of the 30-player Level Two (top-age) group.

Three current bottom-age players have been added to next year’s Level Two group following stellar performances in the 2016 NAB AFL U18 Championships and/or at TAC Cup level this season. They are 198cm Dandenong Stingrays goalkicker Tom De Koning (pictured, left), 200cm Eastern Ranges forward/ruck Sam Hayes (pictured, centre) and prolific Geelong Falcons midfielder James Worpel (pictured, right).

TAC Cup clubs also contribute nine of the 27 players being brought into the Level One group as bottom-age players in 2017, including Sandringham Dragons key-position twins Ben and Max King.

The Dandenong Stingrays have contributed the most players to both groups with six, followed by the Bendigo Pioneers (four), Murray Bushrangers (four), Eastern Ranges (three), Calder Cannons (two), Geelong Falcons (two), Gippsland Power (two), Sandringham Dragons (two), Northern Knights (one), Oakleigh Chargers (one) and Western Jets (one).

See the list of all TAC Cup players in the 2017 Level One and Two groups below.

TAC Cup players in the 2017 Level Two (top-age) NAB AFL Academy:

Jarrod Brander (Bendigo Pioneers)
Kane Farrell (Bendigo Pioneers)
Lochie O’Brien (Bendigo Pioneers)

Hunter Clark (Dandenong Stingrays)
Oscar Clavarino (Dandenong Stingrays)
Aaron Darling (Dandenong Stingrays)
Luke Davies-Uniacke (Dandenong Stingrays)
Tom De Koning (Dandenong Stingrays)

Joel Garner (Eastern Ranges)
Sam Hayes (Eastern Ranges)
Jaidyn Stephenson (Eastern Ranges)

James Worpel (Geelong Falcons)

Tyrone Hayes (Gippsland Power)
Aidan Quigley (Gippsland Power)

Charlie Spargo (Murray Bushrangers)

Patrick Naish (Northern Knights)

Jack Higgins (Oakleigh Chargers)

Lachlan Fogarty (Western Jets)

TAC Cup players in the 2017 Level One (bottom-age) NAB AFL Academy:


Jye Caldwell (Bendigo Pioneers)

Jack Bytel (Calder Cannons)
Rhylee West (Calder Cannons)

Sam Fletcher (Dandenong Stingrays)

Sam Walsh (Geelong Falcons)

Zane Barzen (Murray Bushrangers)

Matthew Walker (Murray Bushrangers)

Hudson Garoni (Murray Bushrangers)

Ben King (Sandringham Dragons)
Max King (Sandringham Dragons)





Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.