TAC Cup Top 25 revealed

25 years, over 1,000 former players drafted to the AFL and these superstars of our game have been selected as the Top 25 in AFL Victoria’s TAC Cup competition’s history. 

Celebrating the success of the TAC Cup since its inception in 1992, the remarkable talent to have emerged from the competition has been recognised with the release of the TAC Cup Top 25 players, featuring a who’s who of the best players in the AFL over the last two decades. 

Fourteen current AFL players are part of the list, including Luke Hodge, Gary Ablett Jnr, Scott Pendlebury, Jimmy Bartel, Sam Mitchell, Dan Hannebery, Robert Murphy, Joel Selwood, Jarryd Roughead, Dane Swan, Brent Harvey, Patrick Dangerfield, Nick Dal Santo and Stevie Johnson, with 11 former AFL players completing the Top 25 with Matthew Scarlett, Chris Johnson, Justin Leppitsch, Jonathan Brown, Cameron Ling, Dustin Fletcher, Barry Hall, Matthew Lloyd, Adam Goodes, Brad Johnson and Chris Judd. 

Selected by a panel consisting of Kevin Sheehan, Leon Harris and Anton Grbac, the accolades of this group are lengthy, with former TAC Cup players judged on their achievements and impact in the AFL. 

Players needed to have participated in at least one TAC Cup game to qualify for selection in the TAC Cup Top 25, as well as playing 150 AFL games. 

There is not much this group of former TAC Cup players has not achieved, with the Top 25 featuring: 

5 Brownlow Medal winners (8 medals overall) 

21 premiership players (49 premiership medallions in total) 

14 club captains 

15 club best & fairest winners (44 wins in total) 

25 All Australian players (including 88 All Australian selections) 

3 Coleman Medallists 

All TAC Cup regions are represented, with Geelong Falcons boasting the most selections with seven, followed by Gippsland Power, Western Jets  (3), Bendigo Pioneers, Murray Bushrangers, Northern Knights (2) and Calder Cannons, Dandenong Stingrays, Eastern Ranges, North Ballarat Rebels, Oakleigh Chargers, Sandringham Dragons (1). 

With 2016 marking the 25th year of AFL Victoria’s long-standing partnership with the Transport Accident Commission (TAC), Chief Executive Officer Steven Reaper said highlighting  the competition’s best former players showcases the depth of high quality talent that has passed through the U18 competition. 

“The Top 25 provides an opportunity to look back at the history of the TAC Cup and its players, highlighting the important role the competition plays in developing players both on and off the field, which should never be underestimated,” Reaper said. 

“It was an unenviable task of narrowing down the long list of incredible former TAC Cup talent to a list of 25 players, but the calibre of players that missed out on selection underlines the depth of talented players helped in their development by our regions and their staff.  

“While the TAC Cup helps players develop their skills and talent, our talent programs also assist in creating safe road users through key messaging instilled in our players since 1992 from our valued partner TAC, which continues in 2016 with the Towards Zero campaign.”  

The TAC Cup Top 25 ranked in order from 1 to 25 will be revealed at the Morrish Medal night on Sunday September 4. The event will be live video streamed via taccup.com.au

Provide your thoughts on the Top 25 on social media with the hashtag #TACCupTop25 

Joel Selwood Bendigo Pioneers Geelong
Nick DalSanto Bendigo Pioneers St Kilda/North Melbourne
Dane Swan Calder Cannons Collingwood
Justin Leppitsch Dandenong Stingrays Brisbane Lions
Sam Mitchell Eastern Ranges Hawthorn
Gary Ablett Jnr Geelong Falcons Geelong/Gold Coast
Luke Hodge Geelong Falcons Hawthorn
Jonathan Brown Geelong Falcons Brisbane Lions
Matthew Scarlett Geelong Falcons Geelong
Jimmy Bartel Geelong Falcons Geelong
Cameron Ling Geelong Falcons Geelong
Patrick Dangerfield Geelong Falcons Adelaide/Geelong
Scott Pendlebury Gippsland Power Collingwood
Jarryd Roughead Gippsland Power Hawthorn
Robert Murphy Gippsland Power Western Bulldogs
Barry Hall Murray Bushrangers St Kilda/Sydney/Western Bulldogs
Steve Johnson Murray Bushrangers Geelong/GWS
Adam Goodes North Ballarat Rebels Sydney Swans
Brent Harvey Northern Knights North Melbourne
Chris Johnson Northern Knights Fitzroy/Brisbane Lions
Dan Hannebery Oakleigh Chargers Sydney
Chris Judd Sandringham Dragons West Coast/Carlton
Brad Johnson Western Jets Western Bulldogs
Matthew Lloyd Western Jets Essendon
Dustin Fletcher Western Jets Essendon


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.