TAC Cup Round 18 review

The Northern Knights and Gippsland Power won the two games played between the bottom four TAC Cup teams at IKON Park on Saturday.

The Knights, who finished the home-and-away season in 12th spot with a record of 3-14, accounted for the Western Jets (10th, 5-12) by 14 points.

Northern broke away to a 22-point lead at quarter time before the Jets rallied to draw level by the main break. The Knights were inaccurate in front of goal throughout the contest – recording nine more scoring shots – but managed to hold off their opponents. Jamison Shea provided plenty of drive for the victors with 31 disposals and seven inside-50s, while Matt Perry racked up a game-high 42 disposals.

Later in the day, the Power (9th, 5-12) continued their good late-season form with a 41-point victory over the Bendigo Pioneers (11th, 4-13).

Bendigo’s accuracy in front of goal had it 15 points in front at half time, but an eight-goal-to-two third quarter set up Gippsland’s win. Prospective high 2016 NAB AFL Draft pick Ben Ainsworth played close to a complete game – recording 33 disposals, 10 marks and four goals – while teammate Kade Renooy bagged five majors from 18 disposals.


CLICK HERE for the full results, best players and goalkickers


Round 18 stats leaders:

Matt Perry Northern Knights 23
Lochie O'Brien Bendigo Pioneers 20
Ben Ainsworth Gippsland Power 19
Jai Rout Gippsland Power 19
Nicholas Giarrizzo Western Jets 17
Riley Saunders Bendigo Pioneers 16
Luke Bunker Northern Knights 16
Oliver Stapleton Northern Knights 16
Kane Farrell Bendigo Pioneers 14
Kade Renooy Gippsland Power 14
Lachlan Murphy Northern Knights 22
Matt Perry Northern Knights 19
Joseph Atley Bendigo Pioneers 19
Luke Bunker Northern Knights 18
Jamison Shea Northern Knights 17
Bobby Lamanna Northern Knights 17
Nicholas Buykx Western Jets 17
Ryan Carter Western Jets 15
James Harrison Gippsland Power 15
Brodie Romensky Western Jets 15
Jamison Shea Northern Knights 13
Matt Perry Northern Knights 11
Ben Ainsworth Gippsland Power 10
Josh Patullo Gippsland Power 10
Lochie O'Brien Bendigo Pioneers 9
Brock McGregor Western Jets 9
Chas Roberts Northern Knights 8
Ryan Carter Western Jets 7
Nick Stuhldreier Western Jets 7
Jai Rout Gippsland Power 7
Josh Patullo Gippsland Power 32
Chas Roberts Northern Knights 28
Julian Patterson Gippsland Power 17
Joel Grace Northern Knights 14
Braidon Blake Bendigo Pioneers 13
Brock McGregor Western Jets 5
Darren Walters Western Jets 5
Nathan Twigg Bendigo Pioneers 5
Ryan Carter Western Jets 4
Keelin Betson Bendigo Pioneers 4
Lachlan Murphy Northern Knights 7
Will Stephenson Gippsland Power 7
Ryan Carter Western Jets 6
Nathan Twigg Bendigo Pioneers 5
Luke Bunker Northern Knights 5
Derek Smith Bendigo Pioneers 5
Changkuoth Jiath Gippsland Power 5
Joseph Atley Bendigo Pioneers 5
Nicholas Buykx Western Jets 5
Matthew McGannon Gippsland Power 5


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.