Dangerfield 7th TAC Cup Brownlow winner

The TAC Cup’s reputation as producing some of the best talent in the AFL competition was again highlighted on Monday night, with the results of the Brownlow Medal, as James Szabo reports. 

The final tally showed that eight of the top 10 players were all drafted from a TAC Cup club – including the top six place getters and winner Patrick Dangerfield, a former Geelong Falcon. 

Dangerfield is the 7th former TAC Cup player to win the award, joining Chris Judd, Jimmy Bartel, Dane Swan, Adam Goodes, Jobe Watson and Gary Ablett Jnr. 

Dangerfield (35 votes), Luke Parker (Dandenong Stingrays, 26 votes), Dustin Martin (Bendigo Pioneers, 25 votes), Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, 24 votes), Andrew Gaff (Oakleigh Chargers, 21 votes), Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, 21 votes), Adam Treloar (Dandenong Stingrays, 21 votes), Marcus Bontempelli (Northern Knights, 20 votes), Robbie Gray (Oakleigh Chargers, 19 votes) and Zach Merrett (Sandringham Dragons, 19 votes) were all part of the top ten players for the 2016 season, according to the umpires. 

Earlier this month Dangerfield and Hannebery also were recognised in the TAC Cup’s Top 25 players of 25 years, finishing in 24th and 25th respective.

13 of the 18 players to finish at the top of their own club’s individual leader board were also from a TAC Cup club. 

The list included three players from the Dandenong Stingrays, two from the Eastern Ranges, Sandringham Dragons and Oakleigh Chargers, and one each from the Murray Bushrangers, Geelong Falcons, Northern Knights and Bendigo Pioneers. 

Adelaide – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, 24 votes)

Brisbane – Tom Rockliff (Murray Bushrangers, 9 votes)

Collingwood – Adam Treloar (Dandenong Stingrays, 21 votes)

Essendon – Zach Merrett (Sandringham Dragons, 19 votes)

Geelong – Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Falcons, 35 votes)

Gold Coast – Tom Lynch (Dandenong Stingrays, 11 votes)

Hawthorn – Sam Mitchell (Eastern Ranges, 16 votes)

Melbourne – Max Gawn (Sandringham Dragons, 16 votes)

Port Adelaide – Robbie Gray (Oakleigh Chargers, 19 votes)

Richmond – Dustin Martin (Bendigo Pioneers, 25 votes)

Sydney – Luke Parker (Dandenong Stingrays, 26 votes)

West Coast – Andrew Gaff (Oakleigh Chargers, 21 votes)

Western Bulldogs – Marcus Bontempelli (Northern Knights, 20 votes)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.