Vic Country squad announced

The preliminary Vic Country Academy squad of 65 players has been released. 

This initial group will participate in Vic Country’s April 12-14 camp at Ikon Park culminating in two trial games against Vic Metro teams on Good Friday at 12.30pm and 2.30pm (see teams below). The initial Vic Metro squad will be announced in the next fortnight.

The 65-player Country squad will then be reduced in the lead-up to the NAB AFL U18 Championships, in which Country will face the Allies on Sunday June 11 (Blacktown, NSW), Vic Metro on Saturday June 24 (venue TBC), Western Australia on Friday June 30 (Etihad Stadium) and South Australia on Wednesday July 5 (Simonds Stadium). 

The Country squad includes eight over-age players, 38 top-age players and 19 bottom-age players. 

The Geelong Falcons have the most players in the squad with 15, ahead of the Dandenong Stingrays with 13, the Bendigo Pioneers with 11, the Murray Bushrangers and Gippsland Power with 10 each and the GWV Rebels with six. 

There are 17 NAB AFL Academy players in the squad: Paddy Dow, Kane Farrell, Lochie O’Brien and Jye Caldwell (bottom-age) from Bendigo; Hunter Clark, Oscar Clavarino, Aaron Darling, Luke Davies-Uniacke, Tom De Koning and Sam Fletcher (bottom-age) from Dandenong; James Worpel and Sam Walsh (bottom-age) from Geelong; Changkuoth Jiath and Aidan Quigley from Gippsland; and Zane Barzen (bottom-age), Ajak Dang (bottom-age) and Hudson Garoni (bottom-age) from Murray. 

The over-age players selected in the squad are: Bailey Morrish from Dandenong; Hayden Elliot and Joshua Jaska from Geelong; Sean Masterson and Julian Patterson from Gippsland; Lloyd Meek and Callan Wellings from GWV; and Ben Paton from Murray. 

Patterson is the tallest player in the squad at 203cm, while Pioneers goalkicker Brent Daniels is the shortest at 172cm. 


Jacob Atley Bendigo Pioneers Rochester
Mitchell Kemp  Bendigo Pioneers Echuca
Jye Caldwell Bendigo Pioneers Golden Square
Brent Daniels  Bendigo Pioneers Nyah Nyah West United
Lewin Davis  Bendigo Pioneers Mildura
Paddy Dow Bendigo Pioneers Swan Hill
Kane Farrell  Bendigo Pioneers Castlemaine
Bailey Henderson Bendigo Pioneers Strathfieldsaye
Darby Henderson  Bendigo Pioneers Echuca
Lochie O'Brien  Bendigo Pioneers South Mildura
Angus Schumacher Bendigo Pioneers Strathfieldsaye
Hunter Clark Dandenong Stingrays Mornington/Padua College
Oscar Clavarino Dandenong Stingrays Berwick/Haileybury College
Riley D'arcy Dandenong Stingrays Rowville/Rowville SC
Aaron Darling Dandenong Stingrays Crib Pt
Luke Davies-Uniacke Dandenong Stingrays Rye/Haileybury College
Tom De Koning Dandenong Stingrays Mornington/Padua College
Sam Fletcher Dandenong Stingrays Red Hill/Padua College
Bailey Morrish Dandenong Stingrays Beaconsfield
Angus Paterson Dandenong Stingrays Mornington/Balcombe Grammar
Mitchell Riordan Dandenong Stingrays Beaconsfield/Haileybury College
Bailey Schmidt Dandenong Stingrays Seaford/Flinders College
Bailey Williams Dandenong Stingrays Crib Pt/Westernport SC
Lachlan Young Dandenong Stingrays Mt Eliza/Mornington SC
Harry Benson Geelong Falcons St. Marys
Oscar Brownless Geelong Falcons Geelong Amateurs/Geelong College
Hayden Elliot Geelong Falcons St. Albans
Ethan Floyd Geelong Falcons Colac
Adam Garner Geelong Falcons Colac
David Handley Geelong Falcons Geelong West Giants
Jack Henderson Geelong Falcons St. Marys/Geelong College
Joshua Jaska Geelong Falcons Anglesea
Matthew Ling Geelong Falcons St. Marys
Tom McCartin Geelong Falcons St. Josephs
Edward McHenry Geelong Falcons Barwon Heads/Geelong College
Gryan Miers Geelong Falcons Grovedale
Cassidy Parish Geelong Falcons Winchelsea
Samuel Walsh Geelong Falcons St. Josephs
James Worpel Geelong Falcons Bell Park
Xavier Duursma Gipplsand Power Foster
Austin Hodge Gipplsand Power Bairnsdale
Nick Hogan Gipplsand Power Sale
Changkuoth Jiath Gipplsand Power Morwell/Xavier College
Sean Masterson Gipplsand Power Ellinbank
Irving Mosquito Gipplsand Power Maffra
Julian Patterson Gipplsand Power Leongatha
Callum Porter Gipplsand Power ROC
Aidan Quigley Gipplsand Power Yinnar
Kyle Reid Gipplsand Power Leongatha
Thomas Berry GWV Rebels Horsham Saints
Josh Chatfield GWV Rebels Koroit
Aiden Domic GWV Rebels East Point
Jordan Johnston GWV Rebels North Ballarat 
Lloyd Meek GWV Rebels SMW Rovers
Callan Wellings GWV Rebels Trentham
Zane Barzen Murray Bushrangers Shepparton United
Floyd Bollinghaus Murray Bushrangers Wodonga Raiders
Jordon Butts Murray Bushrangers Shepparton Bears
Ajak Dang Murray Bushrangers Mooroopna
Hudson Garoni Murray Bushrangers Wodonga Bulldogs
Harrison Jones Murray Bushrangers Wodonga Bulldogs
Mark Marriott Murray Bushrangers Benalla Saints
Ben Paton Murray Bushrangers North Albury
Dave Smith Murray Bushrangers Shepparton Swans
Laitham Vandeermeer Murray Bushrangers Mooroopna




Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.