AFL NAB Under 18 National Championships

The AFL NAB Under 18 Championships kick off this weekend

This year’s AFL Under 18 Championships will follow a different format.

AFL National Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan explained that the first two round matches, which will see Division 1 teams playing Division 2 teams, will not count in determining the respective title winners.

Sheehan said it would allow teams to expose more players to the Championships and play football at a level they’d never previously experienced.

“All teams have 40 players in their squad and we would expect they would play most of them over the course of the five matches,” Sheehan said.

The new format will provide a more condensed conclusion with all the Division 1 teams squaring off in a two and a half week period.

For the first time Foxtel will televise live in prime time the final round of matches – Vic Country v Vic Metro and South Australia v West Australia from Etihad Stadium.

Sheehan noted that historically the Championships provide for about 80 percent of the players selected at the AFL National Draft later in the year.

He added that from last year’s Championship there had been already 27 players who had debuted in the AFL this season.

“All the top 10 draft players appear in it, naturally enough, and the States do a magnificent job in preparing a well -developed group of young kids each year,” he said.

There are 8 teams competing in the Championships:


Vic Country

Vic Metro


Northern Territory



South Australia


Western Australia



Game 1: Tasmania, Bellerive Oval, Sunday June 5, 11.30 am

Game 2: Northern Territory, Visy Park, Saturday June 11, 12pm

Game 3: South Australia, Adelaide Oval, Saturday June 18, 1pm

Game 4: West Australia, Skilled Stadium, Friday July 1, 2,30pm

Game 5: Vic Metro, Etihad Stadium, Wednesday July 6, 5.35pm


Game 1: NSW/ACT, Blacktown Olympic Park, Saturday June 4, 2.35pm

Game 2: Queensland, Visy Park, Saturday June 11, 2.30pm

Game 3: West Australia, Paterson’s Stadium, Sunday June 19, 11.15 am

Game 4: South Australia, Skilled Stadium, Friday, July 1, 12.15pm

Game 5: Vic Country, Etihad Stadium, Wednesday July 6, 5.35pm

Squad lists for each of the teams are below. In the lead up to each of the Victorian team games, we will list the teams for Vic Country and Vic Metro on the TAC Cup website.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.